NYSDSC- New York State Disability Services Council Logo

Awards Committee

Members: Carolyn Malloch (Chair), Margaret Hegener, Carrie Sneyda, Steve Trevlakis, Andrea Piazza-Victor, Richards Wendi, Judy Borner

Charge: To select and recognize members who have demonstrated lifelong commitment within the field in the New York State, and to acknowledge and celebrate their expertise and contributions for the improvement of the lives of our students on campus.

Selected Awards:

  1. Assistive Tech Award:To Individual/Group that promotes use, training, Access to Assistive Tech to Campus/Organization and those who are on the top of current trends and educational information to group
  2. Professional Development Award:Provide educational development to NYSDSC/Campus/Local Community via Conferences, Training/webinars, publications and presentations
  3. Collaboration Award: Description of Programs/training/Education Performed by at least one (1) member of NYSDSC and another group to promote inclusion/Education/Transition
  4.  Diversity & Advocacy: Recognition of actions, programs, educational outreach that promote diversity/Advocacy/Inclusion and Empowerment of individual with Disabilities
 Please use the following form to submit your nomination(s):

Nomination Form

Recent Award Recipients:

 Year Assistive Technology Award Professional Development Award Collaboration Award Diversity and Advocacy
 2018 Jeremy Zhe-Heimerman, SUNYCortland N/A Jenny Gluck Tamara Mariotti, MVCC
 2017 Craig Levins, SUNY Oneonta N/A Nazely Kurkjian, SUNY Office of University LifeDr. Jennifer Wrage, Dutchess Community College

    Previous Award Recipients:


Outstanding Achievement in Disabilities Award (Non-DSC Member)

NYSDSC Service Award

Campus Access Award

 2016 Jean Fairbairn, Binghamton University
 Linda Weinberg, SUNY Delhi
 Michelle Diano, Dutchess Community College



Kevin Smith, NYSED Deputy Commissioner for ACCES

 Merrill Parra, Lehman College

 Meghan Pereira, Buffalo State College


Regent Christine Cea, Board of Regents

Cyrus Hamilton, Cornell University

Dawn Defino, Columbia-Greene Community College


Kevin Tucker, CUNY Ernesto Malave Leadership Academy

Roger Purdy, LeMoyne College

Brian Rose, Binghamton University


Douglas Eich, SUNYIT

Sharon Trerise, formerly of Cayuga Community College

Marist IT Team-Robert Egan, Kathleen LaBarbera, Lee Wallis


Deborah Reeves-Duncan, Marist College

Bruce Pomeroy, formerly of Broome Community College

Cornell University’s ADA Coordinator Team


None awarded

Michele Fish, Cornell University

William Jojo, Hudson Valley Community College


Ken Grisham, Premier Literacy

Helene Stapleton, Cayuga Community College

English Professor at SUNY Morrisville


Joseph Frey, NYSED

Khaki Wunderlich, TC3

None awarded


Victor Margolis, Professor Emeritus, Nassau CC

Kathy Hoffman, Erie Community College

SUNY Fredonia Custodial Services Crew


Email: webmaster@nysdsc.org                                                                             Donate to the NYSDSC

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software